University Hawks vs. Linsly Cadets

Monday, April 26, 2021 - 5:00pm - The Linsly School - Wheeling, WV

Forbes, Smith Twins Lead Hawks to Victory

WHEELING – Timely hitting and clutch pitching helped the University High School baseball team pick up its fifth straight victory on Monday.

The Hawks (6-2, 4-1 OVAC) picked up a 5-3 victory over host Linsly to send the Cadets to just their second loss of the season.

Aaron Forbes provided the big hit of the night for UHS as he delivered a two-run double in the fifth inning, breaking a 2-2 tie. Forbes finished the night with two hits while Avante Neal added a pair of singles with Evan Smith, Casey Smith, and Park Croyle each adding singles in the contest. Casey Smith, Neal, and Cam Musgrave all hit one RBI in the contest as well.

While Forbes was providing the timely hitting it was the Smith twins who provided the clutch pitching. Casey Smith (2-1) appeared in relief of starter Tony Marsh in the second inning. Casey went four innings with seven strikeouts and scattered six hits with one run allowed to pick up the victory. Evan Smith then helped his brother out by striking out the side and picking up his first save of the season.

With the win, the Hawks tighten their grip on a spot in the OVAC tournament which begins on Saturday. Currently, UHS sits in the third spot with a likely contest at Wheeling Park.

University returns to action on Thursday when it travels to Buckhannon-Upshur for a 7 p.m. contest.


JV Hawks Win Fifth Straight

WHEELING – Levi Boyd was solid on the mound for the UHS JV team as it avenged an early season loss with a 4-2 victory over Wheeling Park.

The Hawks (5-1) have now won five straight. Boyd pitched five innings with five strikeouts and just two hits allowed. Chase George picked up the save for UHS.

Gabe Templeton provided the big hit for the Hawks with a double and one RBI. Boyd and Jake Croston each added one RBI and a single in the contest while Jordan Smolkin added a single as well.

UHS returns to action on Thursday when it travels to Buckhannon-Upshur for a 4:30 p.m. contest.